DELF and DALF: Internationally recognized French language proficiency certifications with lifelong validity.

DELF and DALF are official certifications awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify proficiency in the French language of non-native speakers of French. The certificates are internationally recognized and often used by foreign ministries of education (Ministry of Human Resource Development in India) to assess French linguistic skills.

They are composed of 6 independent diplomas that correspond to the levels of language proficiency of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFRL). The 6 certifications are completely independent, i.e., candidates can register to examine their choice. At each level, 4 skills are evaluated: listening, speaking, reading, and writing.

What are the different levels of certification?

DELF A1: Breakthrough or beginner
DELF A2: Waystage or elementary
DELF B1: Threshold or intermediate
DELF B2: Vantage or upper intermediate
DALF C1: Effective Operational Proficiency or Advanced
DALF C2: Mastery or proficiency

Five exams are proposed to the French-speaking people:

Diplôme d’études en langue française, DELF (for all age groups)
Diplôme approfondi en langue française, DALF (for all age groups)
Diplôme d’études en langue française for teenagers, DELF JUNIOR
Diplôme d’études en langue française for children (aged 8 to 12), DELF PRIM
Diplôme d’études en langue française for professionals, DELF PRO

– For more information:

Check Also

Sample video